My Sons, the Spoiler Kings…

I have owned The Legend of Zelda, Breath of the Wild for almost two years now. My first journey into this ‘breathtaking’ world was one of pure joy, not experienced since Twilight Princess. I felt my mind reach out, I felt the blades of grass that swayed in the breeze under my fingertips. The wind touched my face and I inhaled the sweet smell of Hyrulian herbs and spices. I tasted the bitter dust that swirled around my feet, and the coppery tang of Malice that lightly coated everything around me.

Then, two of my five children discovered video games…

My adventures were cut short. The beautiful world of Hyrule was ripped from my hands, quite literally. My good buddy Link became the plaything of my children. They breathed it in, absorbed it into their every being. My youngest son’s 6th birthday was Zelda inspired. Candy chests made of KitKat bars, filled with Rock Candy. Master swords, plastic shields, Champions Tunics, littered my house and I could do nothing but dream of the Hyrule I wouldn’t rediscover for at least another year. But watching my sons become obsessed with this game was something more amazing than anything I would ever later experience in Breath of the Wild.

Now this isn’t to say that everything was fantastic for me. We all have that one friend, that person who spoils every movie you’ve ever been excited to be surprised about, every book you’ve ever wanted to get lost in. Take that friend, make him so excited and adorable that you cannot, for any reason, make him stop gushing over his newest spoilers. These were now the demons my sons had become. They quoted the lost memories, they spoke in depth of characters, backstories, weapons, armor, quests… everything.

There are very few things in life that really make me want to grind my teeth. Spoilers are my dental visit. I knew everything about Breath of the Wild, The Ballad of the Champions, and even ridiculous theories about Koroks being the souls of the former Link’s and Zelda’s that have ever existed. But the sweet faces that looked up at me were too much to bare. I smiled, and listened, got involved with their conversations and, eventually, they moved on. Zelda was replaced by FNAF, then ARK, and finaly… I could forget.

I spent 2 years away from the game. I slowly began to forget the names of Divine Beasts, Memories, where the Master Sword was located… I could finally breathe. I recently have returned to Breath of the Wild, and have so much to say about it, but that will be another article. What Breath of the Wild has really taught me is that sometimes spoilers come from adorable faces. I’ve learned that no matter what I feel, those little voices are just trying to reach out and relate to me. I’ve learned that sometimes we just need to step back for a while, forget the spoilers, and just accept that those little hearts matter more than the 13 required to pull the Master Sword. (I learned that little fact in May of 2017.)

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started